DVD Shrink ripping and conversion general questions

vbimport

I am a MAJOR newbie so thank you for your input!! I have been using DVD Shrink to rip all of my DVDs onto external drives as back up and a convenient way not to have to take my DVDs on trips. My objectives are: highest possible quality and convenience of carrying files around plus the ability to play on PC, TV, Ipod and Blackberry. Here is my multipart question:

1. I want highest quality of playback as possible. I am not concerned about having to acquire hard drive space. So, is using DVD Shrink up to this point as good an approach as I can be using? Whenever the software says that the resulting files will be larger than what will fit onto a DVD, I have told the system to convert the files anyway so some of my folders are larger.
  2. Since all of the audio folders are empty, can they be deleted?
  3. The way I have been playing my ripped files is by using Windows Media and clicking on the VIDEO_TS IFO file. It plays. I am happy. How do I learn what all of the other files are for? Can they be deleted? There seem to be 3 types of files – IFO, media and BUP – and they seem to come in sets. Is there a name for this type of file structure?
  4. Is this the best way to get the highest playback quality on both my PC and my TV?
  5. Is there any other way to play back to a TV other than through a PC? What other hardware can the files be moved to and played back on a TV while maintaining the quality?
  6. How do I convert the folder of multiple files to use on my Ipod (I understand that has to be MP4) and my Blackberry (which I believe has to be MPG2)? I have no problem with buying a product to use for conversion but how do I know WHICH is the best to use?
  7. Should I use a different player other than WMP and, if so, why?