DVD Shrink- great- Nero- not working, sort of- I'm a newbie, sue me

vbimport

I copied a few movies to my hard drive using dvd shrink and they look great and I watched them on my laptop hard drive while traveling. I tried to burn them back to DVD-R and one worked with no problems. The others burned the introductory screen (FBI Warning) and nothing else.

I took the source dvds that I own and tried doing the whole process again from DVD shrink to nero and the dvds fail again. How do I debug this- can you point me to anything online?

thanks,

Don

Could be a media problem-What discs are you using??

I’m using TDK “print-on” DVD-Rs. best I can come up with a model number is DVD-R47WDC100TP.

I tried a previous set of DVD-Rs that worked without a hitch burning other files- no errors.

I’m using a dell with pre-installed dvd drive.

Don

and thanks, because I have no idea how to debug these problems!

I would recommend checking out the Mr Bass guides:

He does some great write ups.

With DVD Shrink, I usually re-author and then create the VIDEO_TS folder to disk and use Nero to burn it to DVD. I will sometimes use a DVD+RW or DVD-RW to do test burns to see if they play so I don’t waste DVD-R or DVD+R blanks. I can erase each RW disk after each test and re-use them. Save me some cash. :slight_smile:

Good luck.

How about trying this: Set DVDShrink to create an ISO image. Then burn it with DVDDecrypter (available at http://www.mrbass.org/). Mode ISO -> Write. Good luck. :wink:

here is something interesting-

the major studio hollywood films were backed up with no problem. The smaller independent dvds burned the menu screen and nothing else. I own all these and tried a few different times.

Secondly, my computer’s dvd burner was set at the 8x default. Could this be a result of using 4x dvds burned at 8x speed- about 80% failure rate?