DVD-RW Formatting

I bought some Memorex DVD-RW’s and want to transfer some pictures for storage from my H/D to the DVD’s. I am using Windows Vista. When I go to burn the pictures from my files to the DVD a message comes up that says “prepare this blank disc” when I hit next it says it has to format the disc and it could take a long time. Is this normal? Do all discs need to be formatted before you can use them? Thanks for any help you can offer. As you can see I’m a novice at this.

Do you have a packet writing software installed in your computer? Something like Nero InCD? If yes, I suggest to remove this software from your computer, or to disable and never use it.

These software are so buggy that most of times you’ll loose all the data burned on the disc in a short time.

Usually it is not needed to format a rewritable disc (except when using a software like InCD), but personally I prefer to do a FULL erase of all new RW discs before to write data on them. I use ImgBurn to run the FULL erase.

However, rewritable media (Memorex branded disc mostly) are not the safest place where to put data. If you want a reliable solution, then I suggest to use write once quality media only (like Verbatim), or, if you absolutely need a rewritable disc, to use a RAM disc.

For a rewritable support, also flash memories can be a good solution, they are certainly more reliable than a rewritable DVD.

I was able to move the pictures using Windows Media Player sucessfully but when it plays them back I’m only able to see them as a slide show, nt as an album.

I don’t have NERO installed. Are some brands of discs better than others? I probably don’t really need the RW feature as I really just want to store pictures so I don’t lose them if I have H/D failure. This has happened to me in the past unfortunately. Is it safe to use an external drive for back-up for data, which is hat I do now? I only back up my e-mail and a financial program.