Dvd+rw drive doesnt work

Hi

I’ve just installed a DVD+RW drive to replace my old CD-RW drive. It’s the Pikaone IDE1008 drive from PC World.

The info that came with the drive says that it’s a plug and play drive,so I connected it up and it seems to work fine, except that it can’t read DVD’s or CD’s!!!

It CAN recognise blank dvd’s however… but wont write to them, only to CD’s

I am using XP Pro… and am a TOTAL newbie so I don’t know about much else.
The device manager says it should be working fine and i can’t find any drivers so I don’t know what else to do.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Glen

have you installed a aspi driver, adaptec do one free for download from there website, also did your cd-rw drive work fine?

My cd-rw drive was fine, that’s why i am so concerned.

I dont know about an aspi driver, simply cos I dont know what it is. I will look into it.

thanks for your help.

ok this is going to sound so daft but i got that aspi from the adaptec site but i dont know how to install it…

i click on the install app and it says press any key to continue. i press a continue and it closes… should this happen or am i being totally stupid?

Right… I’ve had a play about with it and have found that:

1. It can recognise blank DVD’s and CD’s, or apparently music CD’s that have been created from the drive.
  2. It cannot recognise data CD’s or movie DVD’s. It recognises that there is a disc in the drive but suggests that the disc size is 0 bytes.
  3. Nero or any other burning programs can recognise it except Windows Media Player, which recognises it as a CD Drive (I assume it still sees it as a CD-RW but am not sure)
  4. Windows Media Player can use it to burn to CD, I copied one of my CD’s with no problems. When I tried to copy a DVD it said that there was not enough space on the CD, even though it recognised the blank DVD in the drive.
  5. Windows Media Player can recognise all audio CD’s but the actual CD drive cannot… weird