Dvd-rom speed specifications

vbimport

hi, first time i’ve been on the forum. thank you in advance for any information. i am new to replacing hardware on computers. i purchased the 321 studios x copy platinum software in 2004 and it worked unbelievably well. however, the computer it was installed in died. i picked up a refurbished ibm 2.4 gig. desktop and installed the sony dru-500 ax into the second drive. i reloaded the software for the 321 platinum and it didn’t work and found out they were out of business. i recently purchased the next copy ultimate software and copied and burned an 8 gig movie onto a 4.7 gig rw blank. it took one hour to copy and one hour to burn. the company suggested i download the necessary plugins and it should work faster. i did that AND i also used a write only blank. the copy time was still an hour but the burn time went down to 15 minutes. i seem to remember the entire copy/burn time for the 321 software as around 35 or 40 minutes. SO, I WAS WONDERING perhaps the dvd-rom drive that is in the ibm might be a little slow compared to the lg rom drive that was in my other puter. the dvd-rom drive in the ibm is model: XJ-HD165H. (sorry, there is no brand name listed on the drive, perhaps because it was installed in the ibm factory) . on the top of the unit it states that that it is a 16x/48x speed ide hh dvd drive. the data transfer rate for the lg is listed as: dvd-rom max-16x-speed: 22,100kb/sec. correct me if i am wrong but the 2 units appear to be the same so it appears i would be gaining nothing swapping them out OR is there additional upgrades in the lg that would make it faster than the xj. so , after reading all of this , if you are still with me, my question is: is there any difference between the model XJ-HD165H dvd-rom drive and the LG model: GDR-8161B dvd-rom drive.