DVD+/-R? Some questions

Hello, I know this has probably been asked before but I’m a newbie so here goes, other than price, what is the difference between a DVD+R and a DVD-R?

Also, I’m getting a DVD writer for christmas (it burns + and - discs) and was wondering if there was a way of making 1:1 copies of existing DVD’s as most are more than 4.7GB? What software would allow this?

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks

Originally posted by marcyjones

what is the difference between a DVD+R and a DVD-R?

Also, I’m getting a DVD writer for christmas (it burns + and - discs)

and was wondering if there was a way of making 1:1 copies of existing DVD’s
as most are more than 4.7GB? What software would allow this?

Should you go plus or minus? - Picking the right format

Are you getting a DVD writer for X-mas ? Has this been negotable with Santa Klaus ? :wink:

A similar Q & A > Compress & Copy all in one program?

Yes I’m getting this DVD writer
http://www.tadara.com/items-id=11806.htm
Thanks for your help

Yes I’m getting this DVD writer http://www.tadara.com/items-id=11806.htm
Thanks for your help
You’re welcome & congrats w your X-mas present ! :smiley:

One other question regarding MadBob’s CloneDVD/AnyDVD guide, when using AnyDVD to make a complete clone of a DVD onto one DVD-R/+R will it do it no matter what the size of the DVD you’re copying? And if so it obviously uses some sort of compression so will the copy work on a normal DVD player (media compatability issues asside)?

One other question regarding MadBob’s CloneDVD/AnyDVD guide, when using AnyDVD to make a complete clone of a DVD onto one DVD-R/+R will it do it no matter what the size of the DVD you’re copying? And if so it obviously uses some sort of compression so will the copy work on a normal DVD player (media compatability issues asside)?

It doesn’t matter… but it does… :wink: