DVD+R - newbie questions, please!

Hi!

Im a completelly newbie as far as DVD+R technology is concerned, as I have never used a +R before. So, i REALLY apologize for such stupid newbie dumb questions, but i got myself a spindle of Sony 16x +R for the lack of decent -R media where I live, and i got myself a few questions i would appreciate if anyone could please answer:

1- I know +R are more advanced technically than -R, but do I still need to do that bitsetting thing when burning DVD movies backups? Why is this bittseting thing done for?

2- Anyone here has a Nintendo Wii and could please tell me if +R are compatible with it (for backups of original owned games, of course)? Do +R stress the drive harder than -R??

3- As i said, i have never burned a +R before (yeah, i know. Im a virgin), so, can i just use them exaclty the same way i used my hundreds of -R before, or do i need to take any procedure (like the bitsetting thing) for some usages, or even worse, some usages are not suited for a +R??

I would really appreciate if any kindred spirit with time to spare could enlighten me a bit here!

THanks!!

What optical drive or drives are we talking about here. If your drive supports it, Dvd+R should be booktyped to Dvd-Rom, because that is the profile of a commercial Dvd, but that doesn’t mean that if it is burned to Dvd+R that it won’t play. Nowadays there is practically no other differences between Dvd+R & Dvd-R.

[QUOTE=mabhz;2139754
2- Anyone here has a Nintendo Wii and could please tell me if +R are compatible with it (for backups of original owned games, of course)? Do +R stress the drive harder than -R??[/QUOTE]

I use Verbatim MCC004 +R’s for the Wii (bitset to ROM)and they work perfectly, can’t say I’ve tried any other brands though.