Dvd-r long term Storage and another question :)

Hi guys,

Fairly new here, been reading several threads and trying to digest a lot of info tonight :slight_smile:

I’ve been backing up my movies on dvd-r for about 3 years now. Only had a few costers out of hundreds of backups so I think I have that process down.

Been using SmartBuy dvd-r 8x (100 spindle) from Newegg for over a year now and “really” like them. (ProdiscF01)

Anyway…

I’ve been storing them in large 3 ring zipper binders that I keep set on end. I’ve liked the ring binders because I can add or remove pages when there’s a need. But now I’m up to about 5 binders with approx. 200 discs per.

Was going through some of my older backups and noticed that on the edge of the disk that’s exposed, where you’d grad the top to pull the disc out of the page sleeve…there looks to be (what i guess) oxidation or something on the burned area of the disc.

This got me fairly concerned…I “can” seem to rub (lint free cloth) most or almost all of it from the disc, and playing doesn’t seem to be affected. At least on the very I’ve tried so far.

So I thought I’d submit my situation to the experts of these fine community and see how you have chosed to store your collections and what you think about the residue that I’m finding on the exposed areas of my discs. :slight_smile:

Thank you very much for any and all suggestions of opinions you might have on these issues!

Regards,

MC :cool: