Dvd-r capacity problem

vbimport

Hello,
As you can tell im a beginner on these forums and i have just purchased my plextor 716a about 4 days ago along with a 2x50pk of dvd-r 4x shown here
http://www.surpluscomputers.com/store/main.aspx?p=ItemDetail&item=MED10077

Now this store shows that they can hold 4.7gb of space. Well when i went into plextools xl it shows that the disc is blank and has 4.38 gb free on it and is manufactured by Yi Jhan 001. Now my question is do all dvd’s act this way? Am i doing something wrong? Did the store goof up and write the wrong info?

Besides this problem i have another with dvd shrink.
I downloaded dvd shrink 3.2 and burned Life Aquatic with default settings.
Later i tried burning Seinfeld season 3 episodes 1-5 with shrink and encoutered errors about 76% through the encoding process. 2 errors with the same message. “The handle is invalid.”

Thank You for taking the time to read this

All DVDs act that way. Its the 1024MB=1GB and 1000MB=1GB difference. Same with HDD.
The capacity written 250GB on HDD or 4.7GB on DVDs is 1Gb = 1000MB

1KB = 1024 bytes
1MB = 1024 * 1024 = 1048576 bytes
1GB = 1024 * 1048576 = 1073741824 bytes
4.38GB = 4702989189 bytes

also
unbranded media is unlikely to work, maybe OK for short term storage

Depends on who actually makes the unbranded media. I agree that in that case, it is some cheap quality manufacturer.

well if 4.38gb is whatever millions of bytes then shouldnt 4.7 be even more bytes? How does 4.7 factor down to 4.38 … i understand if it was shown in bytes but how does it go down if it says 4.7 but is 4.3 … Once again im not sure if im right but im wondering.

Anyways do you have any thoughts on my other problem written about above?

""Besides this problem i have another with dvd shrink.
I downloaded dvd shrink 3.2 and burned Life Aquatic with default settings.