Dvd pioneer 106s not reading original dvd

Hi all,

I have done a search with no joy - but in case this has allready been answered elsewhere please post me the link.

Anyhoo onto the problem i have been using my 106s for about 2 years with no problems when playing original dvds. (in fact any dvd)

Recently i bought a 108 burner and have connected this to secondary ide as a slave. Since attaching this to my pc i am unable to play original dvds in my 106. When i put a dvd in to the drive it just ejects it, when i put in a copy it plays it fine.

I am not sure if this is related to the issue but i also had the problem where the dvd wouldnt work in DMA mode had to change it to PIO to get it to read anything - though this appears to be an intermittent thing.

Ensure that you have set up the master/slave jumpers correctly. You can have only one master and one slave on an IDE channel.

Yeah i have them set correctly - dvd 106s secondary master
dvdrw 108 secondary slave

primary ide has hdd on both channels

I also have a PCI IDE RAID with a removable hdd on it.

Though thanks for the reply

any other ideas?

Are you using an 80-wire IDE cable? If not, you should be. You also need to set the plugs to the right points - The blue one should be plugged to the controller, the black one to the master & the grey one to the slave.

How does it go reading CDs? What about DVD±RWs?

Im sure i have the IDE set up correctly and with the right cable though i will triple check when i get home tonight. The player has no problems with copied DVD its just original it doesnt like also has problems with files from cd - Gets errors such - this is not a valid win32 application -when i try to run setup files. Is all very strange as worked fine before i installed the dvd burner. (though when are computers not strange :d)

It’s beginning to sound like a laser issue - your drive may be about to fail!!