DVD movie copy "stutters"

vbimport

I have $ if someone has solutions. Seriously… I have better things to do with my time and copying DVD’s should not be such a task.

I’m a software developer, so there’s not an issue with understanding installations and technology. I’ve used a couple different burners, media brands, softwares and players… and I still get similar problems. Many of my copies “stutter”. I don’t know a better way to describe it, but the movie will be playing and then ‘hang’ on a scene, like it’s temporarily lost or confused. It usually recovers (maybe skipping some frames) and then usually goes on for a little while an hangs again… And, sometimes after several minutes, the rest of the movie is fine. I can also forward thru the spot and then it continues.

Here’s a list of the things I’ve used and I nothing seems to have better than a 70% success rate.

Software

• AnyDVD with Nero 7.0
  • DVD Cloner 3

Media

• TDK DVD+R (100pk from Costco about a year ago)
  • Fuji DVD+R (just purchased from Best Buy 2 weeks ago)

Burners

• Sony DW-U18A
  • Sony DWG120A (seem to be relatively new, not much info on them)

Player

• Toshiba SD-K740
  • Portable unit for my vehicle. Brand uncertain off the top of my head.

Computer

• I’ve tried 2 different computers. Latest model is 2.8Ghz, 1G RAM, SATA hard drives all Intel motherboard/chipset.

Now… I’m dead serious… if someone can solve my issue, it’s worth a good $50+ I’ll drop in a PayPal acct or mail to anyone willing to provide an address. That’s a first come, first serve basis… can’t afford ALL the right answers. :wink:

Questions…

1. Media - I read somewhere that DVD-R should be used instead of +R for movies. Is this true?

2. Media - do brands really matter? I’ve read that some people have had issues with as low as 50% success rate with certain brands of DVDs. You’ve gotta be kidding me.