DVD Media Question, Please Help!

vbimport

Hi,

I want to buy some DVD media for my Lite-On 451 Burner and I was wondering which media is best. I want to use it for Data Backup purposes, so it’s important that the media has a long life and that all data is burned reliably without errors.

Also, I did read other threads in this forum, but could not find an answer to these questions.

1.) What is better, DVD+R or DVD-R, these are my current options. I have heard that DVD-R is better especially for data. Is that correct?

2.) I love the FujiFilm Taiyo Yuden CD-R Media, I have been using it for a few years and I can attest that it is of the best quality; however is the same true for FujiFilm DVD-R Taiyo Yuden Media? (Yes I know not all FujiFilm DVD media is from TY, however the 50 spindle I saw from FujiFilm was made in Japan and therefore extremely likely to be made by Taiyo Yuden)

3.) I only care about reliability, is it as safe to use DVD media as it is to use CD-R media? (I am asking because DVD obviously has a higher density and should theoretically be therefore more easily corruptible) To be specific: Is it safe to use DVD-R (or +R) for data storage?

4.) What is a good price, I can buy a 50 spindle, retail from FujiFilm, Made in Japan (Taiyo Yuden) for $50. Is that an ok price? (I know there maybe some cheaper ones online, but I want to be sure it is high quality!)

5.) My burner can burn at 4x by default, with cracked firmware it can write at 8x, however what is the best yet fastest speed to write DVD-R media? (Is 4x ok, or should I use 2x?, what is the best ration between write quality and speed?)

6.) How can u compare write quality of DVD media with that of CD-R media? I mean is there some way I can judge how long one will last over the other?
I can use KProbe to test for C1 & C2 errors on CD-R and PI & PO on DVD’s, but can I compare them?