DVD Media and Drives questions

vbimport

Hi. Ok, so I’m a newbie when it comes to this stuff and I’m hoping you guys can help me with some question I had about DVDs and DVD burning! :slight_smile:

My first question is regarding DVD media, specifically verbatim DVD+R single layer. I have done some searching and there is so much information, sometimes confusing and I just want to make sure that I understood this correctly.

As I understand it, the MCC-004 isn’t always a “real” MCC, correct? It could actually be a CMC, Prodisc, or MBI, depending on where it was made, correct? So basically MCC could be:

1.) MCC (Made in Singapore)
2.) CMC (Made in Taiwan?)
3.) Prodisc (Made in ???)
4.) MBI (Made in India?)

Which is the best after the Singapore ones? I have some verbatims that I bought a while ago that are identified as MCC-004 in ImgBurn. Is there anyway to know which of the 4 it is by looking at the disc or spindle? (I threw away the outer cover without seeing where it was made in as at the time, I knew nothing about the different manufacturing plants)

My second question is regarding DVD drives and which one would be best for burning video DVDs. I have 4 burners on 1 desktop computer and 3 laptops that I can use:

• Info: SONY DVD RW DRU-V204A 1.60 (D:) (ATA) [Custom AMD Desktop]
  • Info: Slimtype DVD A DS8A5SH XAA2 (E:) (ATAPI) [Crappy Asus Laptop]
  • Info: MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ8D1 L.01 (D:) (SATA) [Brand New Samsung Laptop]
  • Info: TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-U633A AC01 (D:) (ATAPI) [Acer Laptop w/ Busted Screen]

Of those four, which one would be best to do the burning?

Thank you for your time!

Verbatim “Life Series” DVDs with the CMC (China Magnetics Corporation) are made by Imation (Memorex, TDK, Magnavox, Philips, HP, and several other “brands”) that are inferior to genuine MCC (Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation) DVDs with the “AZO” labeling. MBI (Moser Baer India) DVDs are somewhat better than CMC media often regarded as “landfill.”