Dvd hardware drivers for XP

vbimport

i just picked up a second hand memorex 8812AJ based DVD writer, and the driver it comes with will not run under XP.

i tried searching www.driverguide.com using various search strings, all to no avail. google just gives me ebay addresses to buy the drive. i tried to let windows install it automatically, even under compatability for win98 support, still nothing.

anyone else use this drive? anyone else no where i ca find drivers for it? both memorex us and europe sites dont have any mention of the drive either, i checked. whats worse is only the european site has driver support - the us site is all firmwares.

help! please! thanks! :smiley:

I’m no expert but I am fairly sure you shouldn’t need a driver for it other than the native Microsoft XP driver which should install once XP detects the drive. If you have tried to install a driver then uninstal it. Is the drive detected by the BIOS when the PC boots?

well, i said that i tried that out. now i wouldnt have posted for assistence if it had worked. anyway:

anyone else use this drive? anyone else no where i ca find drivers for it? both memorex us and europe sites dont have any mention of the drive either, i checked. whats worse is only the european site has driver support - the us site is all firmwares.

Nope you don’t need drivers for drives. Are you talking about a CD that cam with the drive? If so I would think that is more burning software. What does it say on the disc?

Is the drive recognised by XP? Go to control panel–>system–>hardware–>device manager look under cd/dvd rom.

Are the wires in properly, are the jumpers coprrectly set? Do you have any burning software?

Since you said you found various firmwares, have you tried upgrading it?

In a way, firmwares can act like a driver. It does improve compatibility in many cases. However, you should also know that by flashing a new firmware, you could void your warranty.