Dvd Decryptor w/dvd dvd shrink and nero 7

My kids destroy my dvds, especially their own. I’ve had to replace them several times. I’m new to the world of backing up my dvd’s and i have some questions.

I have an alien pc, 3.2ghz, 1 mg ram, dvd player, and a new sony 830 dvd recorder that i got for xmas.

i have a new version of dvd shrink, nero 7 , and dvd decryptor. can anyone please im me or respond as to how or where i can find a tutorial on what to use first and how to go about backing up my dvds properly. :bow:

You dont need dvd shrink if you have nero 7. Dvd shrink was written by the same person that originally wrote nero recode and they are very similar programs (they do the same thing) though I’m guessing nero has had a little more put into it as it is pay software. Shrink is popular as it is the best free software.

Put your dvd that you are copying in the drive.
start dvd decryptor. It should find the dvd on its own (the drive that has the movie should come up in the source and several files wil apear in the right window (all files will be selected, if they are not, select them). If the source is wrong, change it to the drive where you have your movie.
The destination should be something like c:\starwars\video_ts where starwars will be replaced with the name of your movie. Remember this location.
click the button that looks like a disk/arrow/drive
it will run and rip the movie to your hard drive, removing copy protection, when done, close dvd decryptor.

start nero startsmart, and find the copy entire dvd-video icon and click it.
Click import dvd and find the video_ts folder that dvd decryptor created on your hard drive (not the one on the actual disk, the one on the hard drive) and click ok. It should run through a quick analysis.
Make sure dvd-5 is selected as the fit to target size for a single layer blank disk.