DVD/CD writer/reader

Hello Everyone!

I have recently changed my system from XP to W7.

I have 2 DVD/CD writers/readers

NEC DVD_RW ND-3520A ATA Device
HP DVD Writer 940d USB Device (Useed specifically for Lightscribe)

For some reason, this week they have both stopped opening their drawers. I am now unable to open the drawer to place a DVD/CD into either machine.

I am also unable to open them by inserting a paper clip into the small hole by the drawer which is supposed to open the drawer enough to enable it to be pulled open.

This will prevent me from playing any CDs during the Christmas time - sad!

I would appreciate any assistance.

(I am not technically very clever and would appreciate any assistance in plain, easy to understand language!)

Thanks in advance.

I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year.

Colinito

Hi,

two drives going bad the same time is a very rare event. So there could be another reason for this problem, perhaps the PSU is going bad. :eek:

And the paperclip attempt doesn’t work either if your computer is shut down?

Michael

Michael,

Many thanks for your reply.

I had no response when the pc was shut down. I thought that this might be because the power was shut off also. I then turned the power on without starting the pc but this was also unsuccessful.

The annoying part is that when the power and computer are both on, the mechanism is trying to open, the drawer moves slightly but it is as if there is something stopping it from opening. Power is definitely going to both items as their respective lights show green.

I had a look at the links that you have at the bottom of your reply, but they are a little technical for me, and I am also not sure about them as they appear to refer to Samsung products.

Today is Christmas morning. If you read this today, may I wish you and all your loved ones a very good Day, if you read it afterwards, I hope your Christmas Day was very enjoyable!

Regards,

Colin.