DVD Burning to Laptops

vbimport

I am an extreme newbie, so please be kind.

I am heading to a big desert soon for an extended stay and want to have some movies to watch from my personal library while I am there. I am currently using DVD Decrypter to movies from a disk to my laptop’s hard drive. However, I recently realized that I can’t get many files onto my laptop since each movie is several gigs in size.

Can someone provide me with ideas for getting movies onto my computer using only around 1GB of disk space, or perhaps some other clever way to get a bunch of movies over to my new home for the next several months? (e.g, external hard drive, etc.?)

Thanks in advance.

Look at AutoGK to convert your movies to xvid avi files. Quality should be good and much smaller file sizes. You’ll need to work from decrypted files on the hard drive.

You could also convert to H264 mp4, which can be even smaller files. Look at Ripbot264 for that conversion.

To play them, use VLC media player. It can handle just about anything.

All those programs are free to use. There are many other options, and other people will probably chip in more suggestions. Expect a fair amount of time to convert your movies by the way.

what Kerry56 said above is a slightly easier method (i.e. AutoGK) than i use…

i use the standard ‘Gordian Knot’ application with the XviD codec ( http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Koepi_XviD.htm ) … i would explain how to use it but it will take to much time even though it’s not hard once you know what to do… and you got more control over it to vs AutoGK.

with that you can generally compress movies to either 700MB or 1400MB in size… you can select pretty much any size you want but 700MB and 1400MB is pretty much ‘the standard’.