Dvd burning problems with LG GSA-4081B

I’m a newbie at burning dvd. I just purchased a LG GSA-4081B (8x DVD multi drive) and using a 2.0 usb external case. I have a Dell Dimensions4550 P4 at 2.40 GHz, using WXP Home. I downloaded the free trial of CloneDVD and DVD Region Free to see how they work. I tried to copy a DVD and I keep getting the same error message: write DVD9 error possibly bad medium comes up. I’m using Ritek G04 4X 4.7GB DVD-R. I deleted CloneDVD, rebooted, reinstalled CloneDVD and rebooted (per suggestions in another thread) but I still got the same result. I downloaded the firmware from LG and still no change. I bought Memorex DVD-R’s (one of the three brands suggested by LG) and still can’t burn. After reading threads about ASPI layer threads, I used FORCEASPI to go back to Adaptec v4.6 and install the 4 layers. Then I deleted and reinstalled Clone DVD. I still get the same result. I’m ready to send the burner back! Can anyone give me anymore suggestions?

It seems like the problem is you’re trying to copy a dvd-9 to a dvd-5 disc.

Lots of dvds now are 2 layer dvds which mean they hold a little less then double the retail blank discs you buy which hold about 4.3GB. (The 4.7 is in bytes)

What you have to do is convert the disc to fit on the dvd-5 format. There are all kinds of utilities for that. DVD shrink is popular and free.

Just out of interest what brands of discs did LG recommend I have an LG drive as well.

Bill

Thank you BillySeven for your suggestion. However I gave one of my dvd’s to my friend who has the same software and is using LG 4040 (which I believe is the predecessor to the 4081) and she was able to burn it to one of the blank dvd’s that my burner didn’t recognize. Therefore I don’t think it’s the media or the software. However I will look into the DVD Shrink.

LG recommended DVD-R’s made by FujiFilm, Maxwell and TDK.