DVD burner still burns rewritables, but fails to burn normal dvd-r/+r

My acer aspire laptop has a dvd burner, which I have been using successfully for the past 8 months. Now, all of a sudden I can only burn rewritable dvds. The normal dvd-r, which I normally use, won’t work. Either the burner will start, but then the writing speed will drop to 0. Sometimes the burning process will still finish, but then the dvd won’t be readable afterwards.

I have already uninstalled my burner and checked for hardware changes afterwards, but no luck. Hope any one can help.

[QUOTE=Dogo;2093132]My acer aspire laptop has a dvd burner, which I have been using successfully for the past 8 months. Now, all of a sudden I can only burn rewritable dvds. The normal dvd-r, which I normally use, won’t work. Either the burner will start, but then the writing speed will drop to 0. Sometimes the burning process will still finish, but then the dvd won’t be readable afterwards.

I have already uninstalled my burner and checked for hardware changes afterwards, but no luck. Hope any one can help.[/QUOTE]

What kinda software are you using to burn? What laptop and burner model do you have? How long have you had the laptop? What kinda media are you using and what is your burn speed? What dvd are you burning? Does your burner burn dvd+r? Have you tried neospeed to test your drive or get info on your drive? But it sounds like the burner is going out and or the laser isn’t working properly anymore. One last thing have you tried to clean the laser lens.

Hello Dogo, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Can you take a look at the link in my sig (“How to check/enable DMA”), and make sure UDMA Mode is the Current Transfer Mode for all your drives?

Also, what brand of media are you using?