DVD Burner problem recognizing R/W DVD's

vbimport

Hello everyone.

My real name is Doug but I use Franky5 or a variation for most things.
I am new to this forum and have been reading posts and FAQ’s for the past several days.
I have to say that the information given on this site is terrific. I have been using computers since 1966 but only get into the guts on occasion. Unfortunately the progression of hardware and software over the years have left me in the dust.

When I have a problem I dig as deep as I can and most times find the answer, thanks to good folks like yourself, and those that post replys. Your all a blessing to those of us that know less.

The Problem:

(I’ll try to keep this short)

I have an HP computer running XP SP3. It has been a good machine for I think 6 years now. All updates are in place.
Particulars are as follows:

CPU AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Cpu Socket Socket AM2 (940)

Memory Summary
Maximum Capacity 4096 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 1024 MBytes

It has a CD/DVD burner TSST TS-H652L
and a read only drive.

The problem is with the burner drive or something associated with the burner drive when using DVD R/W disks. It has worked okay in the past but just recently has stopped recognizing a R/W DVD. I can read and write a CD and read or play a DVD R disk. (Ihaven’t tried to burn a DVD R disk as yet.)

I have flashed the drivers and uninstalled them and allowed Windows to reinstall on rebootseveral times with no help.

I just today came across a Windows forum post stating this problem was common with SP1 and SP2. SP3 resolved the problem. The last post on this was dated 2007. I already have SP3 installed.

I’m thinking of reinstalling SP3 but I am not totally sure I should.

My question is: Do you think it is okay to reinstall SP3 over the existing SP3?

Thank you for any advice,

(I prefere woodworking. At least I can see the problems better.)

Yo-