DVD Burner/Media Temperature causes errors

Ok, newbie here and this is my first psot. DOnt flame or whine if this is a repost since I dont plan to post here often…

After making more copies of DVD movies from copies I already have (so copies of copies) I noticed something very very odd…

The internal temperature of the DVD Drive I use to read the source disc as well as the disc itself will cause errors in CloneDVD2 IF the temperature (physical Fº) is too high.

I did a few tests to conclude my findings…

i placed the DVDs (source/read dvds) in the fridge to get them cold and then started up CloneDVD2 and ran its process…

got to 51% without errors, then it comes up witht he typical “disc may be dirty, etc” error.

After taking nearly 3 hours to do one full copy process I thought Id try a few more things…

IF I leave the disc out on the desk to “cool” for a few minutes as well as leave the DVD bay door open to let air circulate inside the burner, i can get nearly 30%+ more done before it errors me out again.

I wont go into too much detail but I have found so far that my combination of cheap DVD Burner (sony) and cheap blank media (compusa brand) has so far been annoying to re-copy.

the original copy process from real to blank media is fine, but copy to blank is hard as the copied disc likes to give errors.

either the sony laser to read the disc is getting lame on me, the laser used to burn the info onto the media isnt doing very good OR the cheap media just doesnt work too good.

just wanted to share this info and get any insight on this.

yes my case is properly cooled, DVD Drive (Sony) IS NEW (3 months old, DVD burner is old (1+ year).

My only other theory is replace the burner as the laser may eb going out and see if a new burner will burn more precise copies therefore making easier to read media after the burn process