DVD 9 question

vbimport

I have a question, anyone with suggestions please help.

Someone gave me a copy of an ISO file that is supposed to be a DVD 9 file, the problem is that I thought that DVD 9 files were supposed to be larger than 4.7GB…this file is 4.6GB and fits on a DVDR.

I recorded the file into a DVDR (4.7GB capacity) disk, and I tried to play it on my Panasonic DVD…I’m at work right now, so I don’t have access to the model number of my dvd player, but the dvd player is about 7 years old (if not more)…it’s a pretty basic DVD, it plays DVDR files because I have done it before.

Anyone has any input?..can a DVD 9 be less than 4.7GB? Does it has any restrictions on playing in the USA?

I’m really a newbie when it comes to dvd formats and such, I have only copied a couple of dvds for my little niece, and they seem to work just fine. First time this DVD 9 issue came up…

any help will be appreciated.

The source may be a dvd9, but your “friend” might have stripped or compressed the movie to fit on DVD5 media…

Many people strip (take out extras, credits and commentary) dvd9 media so that the full quality iso of just the movie will fit on a DVD-5…

[QUOTE=chagousa;2158719]I have a question, anyone with suggestions please help.

Someone gave me a copy of an ISO file that is supposed to be a DVD 9 file, the problem is that I thought that DVD 9 files were supposed to be larger than 4.7GB…this file is 4.6GB and fits on a DVDR.

I recorded the file into a DVDR (4.7GB capacity) disk, and I tried to play it on my Panasonic DVD…I’m at work right now, so I don’t have access to the model number of my dvd player, but the dvd player is about 7 years old (if not more)…it’s a pretty basic DVD, it plays DVDR files because I have done it before.

Anyone has any input?..can a DVD 9 be less than 4.7GB? Does it has any restrictions on playing in the USA?