DVD-5 or DVD-9

I’m new to DVD buring and would like if someone could take the time to explain a couple of things. One, the diference between Dvd5 and Dvd9. Two, which of the two burning engines vso or nero should I use when copying dvd movies. Thank you. P.

I will try to help you on this one. DVD-5’s are single layer dvds. This means they hold 4.7gb of information. A DVD9 is a dual layer disc which holds 8.5gb of information.

For example if u go buy a new movie on DVD, that movie is a DVD9. That is how the movie companies get all the extras and such on there.

When it comes to burning these DVDs. If you are using DVD5’s to burn, there will have to be some compression to fit the original DVD9 to a single DVD5. This can be done several ways, using DVDFab, DVDShrink, or IMGburn.

If you plan to use DVD9s, (more expensive, but not unreasonable - AND use Verbatim DVD+R DL), there is no compression required and it makes perfect quality backups of the original DVD9. If doing this use either DVDFab’s Clone Feature, or IMGburn, as both have worked great for me.

Dvd5 is a regular 4.7 gb disc. Dvd9 is for duel layer. Dvd9 is a 8.5gb disc. The Dvd9 will do an entire disc without any compression, where the Dvd5 compresses the video to fit it if the file is larger than the disc.
I use the vso burning engine. I’m new to this, but I’m learning fast.