Dual Layer discs = better quality?

I am fairly new to the world of DVD burning. I’ve done a bit of research today on DL discs and see that they have about double the space of a SL disc. I keep reading “can hold a longer movie” but I’m not so concerned with length as I am with quality. If I have a 2-hour video to burn, does it go without saying that because the DL disc has more space, the quality of the video will be better (I read somewhere that compression isn’t necessary with DLs?) Or am I missing something obvious?

Thank you!

Anytime you can do a 1 to 1 backup, that is going to be your best quality, especially if you use Verbatim or Taiyo Yuden, (TY) blank discs. This applies to both single layer & dual layer blank disc. What I am getting at is sometimes, a full Dvd or if you go with movie only, will fit on a single layer blank disc with little or no compression recquired, without the need of a more expensive dual layer blank disc. It’s not so much about time, but more about the amount of data involved.

[QUOTE=LadyJemima;2299753]I am fairly new to the world of DVD burning. I’ve done a bit of research today on DL discs and see that they have about double the space of a SL disc. I keep reading “can hold a longer movie” but I’m not so concerned with length as I am with quality. If I have a 2-hour video to burn, does it go without saying that because the DL disc has more space, the quality of the video will be better (I read somewhere that compression isn’t necessary with DLs?) Or am I missing something obvious?

Thank you![/QUOTE]

You’ll only ever need a dual layer disc if the original is dual layer.

If the original is only a single layer DVD then you can make an identical backup on a single layer disc.

If the original is dual layer then you can either compress the files to fit on a single layer disc or fit it on to a dual layer disc without any additional compression.