Dual layer burning newbie

Hi all,

I am a newbie when it comes to dual layer burning. I thought I understood all the bitsetting, booktype, etc, but apparently I don’t.

Info about my system:
WinXp Pro, SP2
NEC 3550A, with original 1.05 firmware
Nero 6.6.0.18
DVD Decrypter 3.5.4.0
Verbatim DVD+R DL media

I just got the 3350A drive yesterday, and wanted to test it. I took following steps.
1.) Using DVD Decrytper, I made an ISO backup of Corpse Bride
2.) I then burned that ISO using Nero Burning Rom, the booktype was set to DVD_ROM.
3.) I tested the burned disc for basic operatability in the following drives/players, with mixed results.
i.) Nec 3550A - recognized the disc, began playing fine.
ii.) Nec 6650A - recognized the disc, began playing fine
iii.) Lite-On 48161H - wouldn’t recognize the disc
iv.) Sony DVD-ROM DDU1621 - wouldn’t recognize the disc
v.) Toshiba standalone player, SD2109, recognizes disc, plays, but has problems where I assume the layer break is, chapter 11, around 0:34:33
vi.) Sony standalone player, DVP-NS775V, recognizes disk,

4.) I ran the burned disc through Nero CD-DVD speed tests, with the following results (see attachments below):

I realize now that I should have burned the disc using DVD Decrypter, using the .MDS file, that probably would have alleviated the issue I noticed around the layer break. But I still don’t understand why the Sony DVD-ROM and Lite-On combo drives wouldn’t even recognize the disk.

I am also planning on flashing the 3550A drive with Dee’s 1.Y5 firmware. Is there anything else I need to know or do to make it work in the cases where it didn’t?

Thanks in advance.

I think you answered your own question.

In step #2 you should have burned the ISO with DVD Decrypter.

I noticed in the middle image that your disc status is “Open”. The disc must be closed to work in some dvd players and/or the drives are too old to recognize the dual-layer discs.

Hi Bluewookie,

I would just add a couple things: