Dual Layer Burn Errors

Hi, I’m new to all this so please forgive any blatant buffoonery…!

I’m trying to burn a DVD movie using a dual-layer drive and dual layer media but I constantly recieve this error (see below). I get the same error when burning data or video or when using Nero or BurnImage so I guess it’s something hardware related?

Error:
E 19:29:00 Failed to Write Sectors 1881984 - 1882015 - Write Error

This always occurs at exactly 50% when starting the second layer.

Config:
Win XP PRO SP2
Burner: Philips DVD 16x ReWriter Internal Drive (DVDR1628K/00)
Media: BulkPaq 2.4x DVD+R DL

IDE set to Ultra DMA2…

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Blatant buffoonery = Using anything but Verbatim DVD+R DL.

OK thanks - I’ll invest in some. Does the quality of media really make that much difference, i.e. will it completely stop the burning process?

The ImageBurn software has lots of configurable options, from the comm’ used on the bus to the ‘book type’ etc. Are any of these worth playing with or will the defaults generally do nicely? The help is a little light…

Yes, media does make that big of a difference, and Philips/BenQ burners have a known issue with RITEK D01 (used by BulkPaq) writing stopping halfway through the process.

And I’d recommend setting the booktype to DVD-ROM, for maximum compatibility in standalone players.

I think a lot of drives have a known issue with ritek D01. The known issue is, its crappy media that doesn’t burn good (some managed to get it to burn ok but many have not including myself on 3 diffrent burners).
I’ll second the verbatim dual layer recomendation.

Jeez, nice waste of £27! Ok, thanks - I’ve got some Verbatim on order so hopefully that will sort things out.

Thanks again for you help, much appreciated.

£27—JESUS! REMIND Me to NEVER EVER Buy Any…
Normal Single Layer will do me PERFECTLY…
Good Luck with the Other Discs