Dual layer backups on standard 4.7G using 1clickdvd software

Hello, my name is Don-
I am brand new to the art of making dvd backup copies, and I am looking for info related to making backups for what I believe are dual layer dvd’s.(disc size is shown as about 8Gig when loaded)

I recently purchased 1clickdvd software and once the decyption issue was performed had no problem making standard single layer dvd copies.
However, I do have some multisession, documentary style dvd’s which I would very much like to backup in case any should get damaged.
To make this brief the sw review info I have(1clickdvd) indicates that single layer dvd backups can be made from dual layer originals by compressing the info onto one standard disc, but also indicates that the use of dvd-r discs should be used.(I have already tried using standard dvd+r discs(although they were cheap memorex brand discs) and I either get errors or nothing gets copied).

My question is this. I have an HP computer which has a dvd+r recorder/player. Do I really need to copy dual layer dvd’s onto dvd-r media, and if so will I be able to use my dvd+r drive? Also where can I get information on the difference between +r and -r drives and media, and does anyone have a suggestion about how I can accomplish dual layer backups with what I have. Also I was wondering if its software which makes the drive a + or - drive or hardware, or both?

I already tried using Verbatim -r disks in my drive, and it seems not to recognize them during the write phase of the copy process.

Someone out there probably no immediatly what I am doing wrong and I would really appreciate some guidance. I have a good technical background, but I have no experience at all making dvd’s of any kind.
Thanks you so very much, and I look forward to hearing from someone if at all possible.

Have a great day, and thanks again!!
dgdvd

Yo-

If you have a +R only drive - then you can write ONLY +R disc media-