Dual layer 16X?

I just wonder, i am new to the movie making buissniess, but they tend to be rather largo so a 4,7 just is,nt enough anymore, i need dual layer. But i am only able to find 8X dual layers, Will that make the video suck ? or did i just not look hard enough for 16X dual layers?

How about telling us what equipment you have, what programs you are using & more info on what these 8X blanks are? If you are worried about size, here’s one option. Posts #67 to #74, but please also read Posts #77 & #78.

http://club.cdfreaks.com/f116/dvdfab-5-0-2-2-not-ready-big-league-245636/index3.html

I believe that “16x DL” makes no sense.

[QUOTE=cfyra;2214232]Will that make the video suck ? or did i just not look hard enough for 16X dual layers?[/QUOTE]

The rated speed of media has no influence at all in terms of quality.

Some burners already support 16x DVD+R DL media, but the media is not available (yet).

[QUOTE=Womi;2214472]The rated speed of media has no influence at all in terms of quality.

Some burners already support 16x DVD+R DL media, but the media is not available (yet).[/QUOTE]

Heck, I’d be happy enough if they did a good job and made most 8x DL media burn well at 8x! :rolleyes: 4x with non-Verbatim media takes too long IMHO. Only MKM media does really well at 8x (with consistency). :frowning: Fix the current media first before making more expensive 16x DL media!!! :a

Oops, sorry for the rant. :stuck_out_tongue: A 2-hour video compressed at VBR MPEG-2 with AC3/PCM will fit well within ~8GB of a DL disc with the best possible quality. It’ll even fit on a SL ~4.38GB if compressed using a quality encoder on VBR mode, better yet if it is done with multiple passes. So no, it’s primarily due to the MPEG encoder’s settings and processing quality that determines if a video will “suck”.

[QUOTE=Womi;2214472]The rated speed of media has no influence at all in terms of quality.