DRU-820A- dark ring at 60% +/- on Verbatim/Maxell/Memorex media

vbimport

Just a newbie here with first post.I just picked up a Sony 820a recently with 1.0b firmware. On the data/underside of disc I can see a distinct color change/darker on outer part of disk(maybe 60% or so). It does this on Memorex/Verbatim/Maxell 16x medias. The read back looks ok at 16x but I tried burning one verbatim at 8x and the ring can’t really be seen but it seems to have read back problems where as the 16x doesn’t. I called Sony and they said the drive may be defective(because they of course never heard of any problems) but when I read the review here it mentioned rings on some of the burns which was described as firmware writing strategy issues. I don’t have a good drive to do a quality scan on it.Anyone else getting these rings or could my drive be faulty? Thanks

I get the rings also just as you described. Ithink we need a newer firmware but 1.0b is the newest so far.

The 820 is a rebaged Benq 1670, for the moment you have to use sony firmware as the 1670 firmware is not available. I have heard the sony firmware is pretty good though. Also a ring does not neccesarily mean a bad burn it usually occurs when the drive changes speeds (ie from 4x to 8x etc.) what is the Media code of your media?