Drop in print quality of Canon IP4500

I have a Canon IP4500 that I have been using for a while - primarily, as advised by folks on this forum, for printing CD-R, DVD-R TY Watershields. Of late I have notice a serious drop in the quality of the prints even when it is just to regular glossy paper.

The system is Windows 7 64bit, I am using Surething Deluxe 5.

I’ve replaced the printhead but that has not shown any improvement. I have been using LD Product ink cartridges and not the official Canon but then I have been using these for a few years without issue. I have ordered some of the OEM cartridges to see if that makes any difference.

Does anyone have any idea what might be the root cause of this or anything that I could/should do to address this issue?

I attach examples of an older printed CD and a recent printed CD. I think that it is possible to clearly see the “streaks” across the print surface in the “new” print which are not as obvious in the old version. Also, the overall print seems to be very light and washed out in contrast/comparison to the old.

Thanks in anticipation of any help.

Update - I installed the Canon OEM cartridges and ran a couple of cleaning cycles. Net effect is no different :frowning:

I have noticed that the print head is not firing on all the jets.
Do a nozzle check and clean as necessary .
I have an IP5000 and have found with some cartridges when the ink levels low but not out that particular colour does not print properly, a new tank and clean usually fixes it.

The Canon driver offers several good tests to run, including a nozzle check and alignment. If the print head was indeed replaced, then you’re down to looking at settings in the driver.