Drive Buffer level problems when burning DVD @ 4X

vbimport

Hello to all,
I’m a newbie to the DVD stuff. I just got a Plextor PX-716A. I don’t have any problems when I burn CDR but when it comes to DVD I find an issue with the “Drive Buffer Level” (I use Plextools 2.21 with latest firmware 1.06) it keep changing from green light to red light. I have a similar problem when I use NERO, the buffer level sometime “drop” (I can hear my computer works a lot) and then buffer go back up. I don’t think it is normal since I’m burning at low speed (4X).

Here’s a log of my last test (I used a cheap FUJI DVD-R in this last test but when I burn with FUJI TY DVD+R I have same buffer level issue). Take note that AutoStrategy is enabled (I have to entry in the database that’s why “AutoStrategy function is not executed”).

PlexTools Professional V2.21 CD/DVD-ROM Maker
Copyright © 1999-2005 Plextor SA/NV
25 avril 2005

Software information

Operating system: Windows XP V5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
ASPI Manager: n/a
Description : n/a

Destination Information

IDE Interface 1 ID: - Maximum # Targets: -

Description: Canal IDE secondaire
Type : Contrôleurs ATA/ATAPI IDE

Port Driver: atapi.sys
Provider :
Description: IDE/ATAPI Port Driver (Microsoft Corporation)
Version : 5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)
Date :

ID 0: PLEXTOR DVDR PX-716A V1.06 (S/N:425522) (2.12.19D - 1.11.56C)
Read speed: 5-12X CAV, Jumper settings: 001, Buffer Underrun Proof enabled
Blank DVD-R, ProdiscF01

CD/DVD-ROM Maker Log

Selected write speed: 4.0 X
Allow Overburning : no Leave Disc Open: no

Project: New Volume - 4218.85 MB
Generating File System Information…
Start Simulation Copy 1/1
Simulating Write Lead In
Simulating Write Track 1 Start:00:00.00 Length:480:00.51 4218 MB
Simulating Write Lead Out

AutoStrategy Result:
AutoStrategy function is not executed.

Selected Write Speed : 4.0 X
Maximum Media Write Speed : 8.0 X
Actual Last Write Speed : 4.0 X PoweRec : enabled