Downloading movies

vbimport

Hey guys,

I’m a newbie and i was wondering if someone knows a legal software so i would be able to capture movies from Netflix?
Are there any opportunities ?

Thank you :slight_smile:

[QUOTE=teddywally;2779072]Hey guys,

I’m a newbie and i was wondering if someone knows a legal software so i would be able to capture movies from Netflix?
Are there any opportunities ?

Thank you :)[/QUOTE]
NetFlix is all copyrighted content, and you do not have an original disc so this would be illegal. :wink:

This is really a tricky situation in regards to the law and the terms of your contract with Netflix. Netflix specifically prohibits you to [I] archive, download (other than through caching necessary for personal use), reproduce, distribute, modify, display, perform, publish, license, create derivative works from, offer for sale, or use (except as explicitly authorized in these Terms of Use) content and information contained on or obtained from or through the Netflix service without express written permission from Netflix and its licensors.”
[/I]

So this is a breach of contract, which could lead to an end of your service if you are caught.

It is not, however, impossible to do, and the method by which it is done sidesteps the DMCA restrictions on breaking encryption. There is one software called Playon, which acts as a screen recorder, so it does not break encryption, and is in fact, supported by a Supreme Court ruling on recording television using a VCR. Playon has been in business since 2011 and the television studios, movie studios and streaming video businesses have ignored them, since the outcome of a suit would be in doubt. Is it entirely legal? I’m not sure anyone can answer that. It might have to go to court for a judgement.

There seem to be a lot of programs that claim to do it, not sure if they grab the stream or play-capture

Welcome to the forum teddywally :flower: