Downloaded DVD will not play in my set top player!

First of all please bear with me as I know this has probably been addressed… but when I try to search the forums I keep getting a “can not find server” and I am getting frustrated:)

ok Here is the deal. I am not a newbie to backing up DVD’s I have done my entire 400+ disk collection and another 300+ so far from my VHS tapes that I have converted. I have been using the same drive, software and media for all 700+ disks. I have an el cheap-o Micro Advantage drive and I use Memorex 8X and 16X disks. I HAVE NEVER BURNT ONE COASTER OR HAD ONE PROBLEM WITH EVEN ONE DISK!!! so please no “that media is crap” or " get a _____ drive it is the best" I know this media and burner works in my Sanyo player perfectly.

But I have a problem with downloaded media. My copy of “Daddy Day Care” was completely ruined by my daughter before I could copy it so I downloaded a copy. (I also have tried about 6-7 other downloads to see if it was just a problem with that movie and get the same result.) And no matter what I do it will not play in my player. plays fine on my PC… but will not play at all in my set top. I have tried converting avi files to dvd… and even downloaded DVD iso images so i know it is something else… I tried to burn with DVDShrink …Clone2DVD … decrypter… even tried running it through multiple programs to try and “reformat it” what else is there??? I am about to try and change the book type for my drive… but I don’t know how this will change anything as I have over 700 DVD that work fine with the DVD+R book type already… sorry for the long post but any ideas would be grand.

We do as well, it’s illegal if it’s not free of copyrights.