Don't know how to interpret

I’m new to DVD testing, and I just bought a spindle of TYs. I burnt a DVD movie and tried to see if it is any better than my older media. I tested it twice. Do these graphs look good? I pasted the general info from my testing it twice. I burnt at 8x. Should I try 6x or 4x?

General Information
Drive: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-107D
Firmware: 1.22
Disc: DVD+R (YUDEN000 T02)
Selected speed: 8 X
PI errors
Maximum: 336
Average: 82.12
Total: 1220362
PI failures
Maximum: 33
Average: 1.52
Total: 16061
PO failures: n/a
Jitter: n/a
Scanning Statistics
Elapsed time: 20:46
Number of samples: 17607
Average scanning interval: 8.00 ECC
Glitches removed: 0

General Information
Drive: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-107D
Firmware: 1.22
Selected speed: 8 X
PI errors
Maximum: 350
Average: 79.99
Total: 1189129
PI failures
Maximum: 28
Average: 1.50
Total: 15810
PO failures: n/a
Scanning Statistics
Elapsed time: 20:58
Number of samples: 17607
Average scanning interval: 8.00 ECC

The scans look like crap past 3.5GB, but then Pioneers aren’t very good drives for PI/PIF testing so I wouldn’t take the results with certainty. Do you have access to a Benq or Liteon drive for a better testing drive? Otherwise you can also run a transfer rate test, although there’s a fair chance that the TRT will appear perfect, but that still doesn’t disprove the error levels being reported above.

Regarding burn speeds, in most situations media will burn best at or near its rated speed. If the burner is poor, firmware support is poor, poor media, etc., you may get better results at slower speeds but T02 should burn fine at 8x. If there is newer firmware for your drive, it would probably be best to update it.

What brand are these discs, BTW?

There is no newer firmware for Pioneer 107D unfortunately… it’s an old model that I bought early in the DVD burning game. :frowning: I’m kind of disappointed at the inclining graph myself.