Does Disney Have A New Copy Protection, Or Do They Just Suck?

I’m by no means an expert, but I would lean towards option #2

I got a bunch of little nephews and assorted cousins that watch the disney vhs tapes and dvd’s quite often…

So I thought I would back up the dvd’s…

Consider these 3 movies…

1. Aladdin - King Of Thieves - 1995

Tried to rip it and got an error…

List Index Out Of Bounds (2)

Visual inspection revealed a few scuff marks but not big enough to usually cause a problem. I cleaned the disc and it ripped just fine.

1. Bambi II - 2006

Visual inspection reveals a clear new surface no scratches or scuffs.

Used SmartRipper, DVD Decrypter, and Iso Buster.

The same file shows up bad on all 3 programs and cannot be ripped.

1. Narnia - 2005

Visual inspection reveals a real bad dye job. the dye is not spread evenly and is by no means circular.

Used SmartRipper, DVD Decrypter, and Iso Buster.

Half the files show up with errors and cannot be ripped.

Now all 3 of these play well enough to satisfy the kids, but since i haven’t watched any of these myself, I don’t yet know if the errors show up on the tv or not.

These errors only come up with disney movies…

I have backed up over 150 dvds in my personal collection, and never had any error, much less a list index out of bounds.

I have gone through a bunch of threads on this site and others and tried all the fixes, and the best it came up with was substituting the errors with dummy data…

Not acceptable for something I spend money on…

I got tapes that are 5 years old and have been played a hundred times or more that still look good…

Narnia and Bambi 2 barely have 5 plays each…

sigh

i don’t know anything about smartripper, but isobuster doesn’t remove copy protection and dvd decrypter hasn’t been updated in ages.

use a program that is updated for latest copy protections and you should be fine.