Does anyone know what CP cost per copy?

vbimport

Dont know if this is the right place for it, my appologies if its way wrong. Here goes.

Do any of you folks know how much something like Tagés or SecuROM cost per manufactured CD?

Got into an argument today with a techsupport rep because I used a noCD pacth for a game I bought. Me pointing out that as a customer Im not interested in paying for something that limits my use of the product etc (you know the drill). Didnt hit home... Anyways so I got thinking, how much are we forced to pay for these curseword systems?

Why don’t you email them?:bigsmile:

That would be easiest if they botherd to answer but that hasnt happend yeat.

Tell 'em you’re EA:p

as they are going to believe that. lol

Ok guys…

Here goes 15 euro cents (10ish pence in UK) per disc for Tages and about the same for SecuRom and SafeDisc…

There are other costs, but they are the price per unit as you requested…

This is my first time on this board - but I know quite a lot about the industry - so jus’ ask…

I normally spend my life in mIRC - but getting bored of the horrible text now! - Forums look much nica! :smiley:

MuzChap

do you know something about starforce costs?

I think it also depends on the amount of manufactured CDs. I can imagine that if you buy a million pieces licence, the cost per cd are lower than when you want a thousand…or is all this taken care of by the fixed costs? (curious myself too…just curious)

Yes indeed, economies of scale do exist! The more you produce the cheaper per unit it becomes.

There are also other costs to consider £5-£10k worth of SDK and other licencing issues that are paid up-front.

I’ll try and get a price for you on StarForce - but would expect them to be similarly priced.