Do I need Nero Version 7.0 to burn a DVD?

I purchased a Plextor PX-740-UF with Nero Version 6.6.0.14 and when I went through the steps outlined in my question it now tells me I need to purchase DVD-video plug-in which is included in Nero Version 7.0. Do I actually need to purchase Nero 7.0 in order to copy the files I have decoded to a DVD or am I just missing something? Any assitance will be greatly appreciated as I am new to all of this and would really like to finally find success in burning a DVD on this burner if for no other reason simply to know that I can do so.

What conversion are you trying to do?

Nero 6 can burn DVD correctly, so probably there is a way to avoid buy nero7.

Hi :slight_smile:
Welcome to the forum mike2154. :clap:
No you don’t have to purchase Nero 7. If you need pluguns you should be able to get them seperately for Nero 6.(Buy them that is). They’re obviously trying to promote Nero 7.
Take a look here for free s/w & guides.

I have read on a different thread that there are issues with the Nero version I have included with my DVD writer. I have no idea what to do as it gives me an error message when I attempt to view a DVD through my Nero program. I can not find a site to upgrade my version other than to upgrade for $65 and I am not willing to spend that much since you can buy Nero Version 7.0 on Ebay for $25 shipped. Anyone have any advice? I am currently a little strapped for $$$$ so I was hoping I would not have to spend any more money than what I paid for the DVD writer so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Can you post more details?

What error is exactly? Can you post a log? Or an image of the error message?

As I said, nero 6 can burn DVDs perfectly. What are you trying to do exactly? In the first post you said that you want to burn a DVD, and now you’re saying that you are trying to watch a dvd with nero.

Moreover, are you referring to [B]nero burning rom[/B] or to [B]nerovision[/B]? These are two different packages.

Hi,