DL disc burning

vbimport

hi there.

this is my first time posting on this site and also my first time dabbling in burning dual layer dvds. i’m having quite a bit of trouble with it all, so here i am. i am trying to back up a copy of one of my dvds (i have a summer home and copy my entire library so as to have my movies there as well).

i’ve read a few of the posts on this site to try to get some help before i posted, but i’m still running into the same problems.

i’ve tried burning with sonic digital media and 1click dvd. but both times after burning, the only thing available on the disc was everything but the movie (menus, extras, etc.). when i select the “play movie” option from the menu it goes thru all the copy warning stills and then the screen just goes black. no movie begins to play. and if i try to choose a specific scene from the scene selection option in the main menu, nothing happens. it stays frozen on the selection menu.

i noticed after a few attempts at uploading the movie that the size of the copied file was only showing up as 2,563,412 kb on my hard drive. i know thats not right because the original movie itself is over 8,000,000 kb. so i’m assuming that is a clue, i just dont know WHY its only copying at that size.

i also tried using imgburn after reading some posts on this site. i followed some posted instructions and all seemed to go well. the disc copied to its full 8,255,232 kb onto my hard drive. but once i tried playing the finished copied disc after going thru all the motions of burning the disc - which, because this was a totally new software to me i can only assume i did correctly based on what i read on this site - it did the same thing i mentioned above. no actual movie was present on the disc.

i’m not sure what i could be doing wrong here. if anyone can offer me any advice, i’d really appreciate it.

thanks!

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile: