Disk to Disk Copy

I’m very new to coping. I have a problem with making a decision.

I have a Dell system with a NEC 3450A and CD Writer 48XR/RW. I have a ton of movies to backup. It’s time consuming to write to disk and then write to DVD. I want to get a unit to replace the CD writer. Today I saw a post about NEC 3540A being tested and it looked to be a good one. The cost between buying a CDROM/DVD and the NEC 3540A was not that much difference.

Could I expect about the same result going from disk to disk as I’m getting with disk to HD and then back? Have not had one failure so far.

If the answer is favorable, where could I buy the NEC 3540A in the US? If it helps, my PC is described below.

Your help is needed for me to decide this.

P4 3.2GHz Hyper
1 GBH RAM
XP Media Center Edition
160 SATA HD
CloneDVD2
AnyDVD
CloneCD

Walt

The NECs are very good and fast readers as well.
My 3500a is a better reader than my Liteon DVD-Rom :wink:

“On the fly” copies should be possible using one of those as a reader.
But ur discs should be scratch free and in good shape if u want to copy them directly (I generally would recommend against on the fly copying).

Cheers!
Klaas

May I should reconsider. My grandchildren are not the world’s greatest handlers of Disks!

Walt

I see you have AnyDVD and CloneDVD. I copy disc to disc all the time, it will copy to your HD at the same time, no prob. This way if you have a coaster you can copy existing files in 9 min. flat. Put both discs in, and like Ron Popeil says, “set it and forget it.” Although the DVD burner is slower at copying CDs, you can get a modified riplock removed firmware for the burner to copy DVDs, whereas you can’t get it for combo drives (though they are faster on CDs).

ricoman - That sounds interesting about the “riplock” but I’m totally unfamiliar with that or updating or getting firmware.

I understand this to mean, “I can get firmware for my Samsung 48XCD burner to cause it to recognize a DVD?”