Disable all write functionality due to customer security requests

vbimport

Hello folks,

Spent some time searching this sub-forum before asking and see that most requests such as these are met with a healthy degree of skepticism regarding trying to fool copy protection and what not; that’s not the case here. However seems that all of those threads are quite old… so new thread time!

This is a 100% honest, no kidding request to neuter some rather expensive drives into CD/DVD/BR ROMS. :eek:

I work in the semiconductor industry and we are getting a lot of pressure to disable ALL BURN FEATURES on our systems BluRay burners due to customer security concerns. And I do mean everything: CD, DVD and BR. It’s irritating… but the customer is the customer!

Before someone states the inevitable, these are slim-line drives, so the market is extremely limited. Additionally we only buy devices with multi-year road maps; so just buying whatever is available at NewEgg / Fry’s isn’t an option. :stuck_out_tongue:

The two drives in question are a Sony / Optiarc BD-5850H, which went EOL and has since been replaced with a Teac BD-W26SS-B. I’ve contacted Sony & Teac directly… but am reaching out to the community too. :smiley:

Right up front - I know absolutely nothing about modifying firmwares! But would it be possible to dump the FW from the drives, modify them accordingly and flash as/when needed?

Thank you! :bow:
Jason

Just buy rom drives

It could be possible to disable burning by modifying the firmwares. However the Optiarc firmwares are encrypted and so far nobody has figured out how to decrypt and re-encrypt them.

No idea about the Teac drive though