Difference between flash drive and jump drive

Obviously I am a newbie, but like to have all my pix backed up twice as I am afraid I will loose them forever. I have been putting them on cruzer flash drives. Now I am confused as to the difference between the flash drives and the jump drives. One salesperson says one is better and someone else contradicts this. For back-up storage of personal home & family pictures which should I use?

two different names for the same thing? i think jump drive is the trademark, ie a type of flash drive. I have had my USB 1GB pen (kingston data traveller II) for over a year now, loaded it to the max hasnt so much as even taken an extra second to recognise, great value.

Quote from Google search:

“A jump drive is a plug-and-play portable storage device that uses flash memory and is lightweight enough to attach to a key chain.”

So, just as a joke, a jump drive seems to be a flash drive that is able to…jump…!!!
A bit more serious: don’t forget you can have flash memory (and therefore flash drives) in dif forms other than USB “keys”. Junst think about photo memory cards and now the news about “HDD” mixed with flash memory or even hard disks using only flash memory (those would be flash drives, right?..and inside the machine you would not want them to…jump, for sure).
Look at the drives transfer/read speed, the quality of enclosure and security features and forget about this sales bla-bla-bla.

1. “Flash Drives” and “JumpDrives” are the SAME. Period.
Some companies like to use different marketing names for their products, but ultimately they are the same fundamental products. Lexar often likes to call them JumpDrives. Other common names are “USB Flash Memory Drives” and “Thumb Drives.” Many sales guys are clueless and don’t know a thing. Walk into Worst Buy and it’s the blind leading the blind.

2. Flash Drives are NOT a good backup medium.