Did you study Maths/Engineering (not software) @ University

Hey all.
I was wondering if anyone here who stuied / is studying a mathematical course at university would give me thier views on the cousre :slight_smile:

I am choosing what to study and i am considering:

Engineering (any disciplines / combined course)
Maths
Physics
Chemistry
[even Medicine]

but I am not quite sure yet. Im taking a gap year so what i decide to apply for will partly dictate what i will do in my gap year, but i have until September to decide.

I’m studying computer/information sience and that comes with quite some engineering (software engineering) and dedicated math, so in a way, yes I am

The main things we calculate are the correctness of algorithms, automata, logics etc.

im in electrical engineering, and the comp science guys take way more math than i do. their stuff is all algorithm based. im transfering to computer engineering, which is in same dept, so no real loss to me.

if you are looking for jobs after you graduate, though, they say EE is the way to go (at my school). too bad digital signal processing > me.

//counts courses with heavy math base (boolean algebra != math)…16-20, off top of my head. ew.

This is what i am studying, which has a lot of maths and of course a lot of engineering (software though)

Anyone wanna do my programming assignment for me??? :smiley: :bow: :stuck_out_tongue:

hope you like sscanf. mine doesnt look so tedious, does it? its a first project. http://www-courses.cs.uiuc.edu/~cs318/mp/mp1/mp1.html

Studied math for a while , hated it.

Yes, EE: BSEE '87, MSEE '93, ABD (All But Dissertation) EE

I have a degree in Electroacoustics from Salford. This course no longer runs but they still run Audio Technology and Acoustics, both are heavy on the maths and engineering.

Im a mechanical engineer. Maths are simply a tool to do mechanical calculations for us. :p I cant say I like maths that much, although I was rather good at it. :confused: