DFX and DSPs in General

vbimport

What is the consensus on DSPs for audio players like Winamp and Sonique? The one that I’ve been using for awhile now is DFX and it seems to work well, but I’m a newbie audiophile and I would like the opinion of more “advanced” audiophiles.

dude,

go to the winamp website and search for a DSP plug in called enchancer - its the best and most realistcally boost the plain sound. Also, i would recommend you to d/l another great plug - in for being able to use a library fearture in winamp 2.xx. Go to http://www.wincue.org/download.php and grab it.

peace.

Hi,

I made a very long post explaining some stuff but it was discarded for using to much [IMG] codes, also I just included 10 smileys: strange. Anyway, this is not the point.

First of all, I’m not an advanced audiophile, but just a regular listener with 2 ears and a brain which isn’t afraid of reading some tech doc and having my own tests and related conclusions.

Before suggesting you to head to Hydrogenaudio Forum which is full of informations regarding all audio questions in general and audio compression in particular, I just want to say that IMHO, there isn’t any definitive answer to those kind of questions appealing subjective points of view. Some purists even don’t want to use equalisers in order to keep music intact, so don’t talk to them about DSP :stuck_out_tongue:
My opinion is to have the maximum pleasure when listening to music. If this is achieve by knowing that you have the perfect hardware and software, not changing a bit between the wave produced by the vibration of vocal cords of the singer and your ear drum, that’s your choice.