Desperately need driver for a Matishta DVD-RAM UJ-822S

vbimport

I’m a newbie and I’ve also been out of the loop for awhile. In the process of trying to speed up the start up in this old IBM ThinkPad T43 I completely uninstalled Roxio, because it had been uninstalled before so I was just removing extra files found by revo uninstaller. Unfortunately now my dvd drive will not work. I’ve been looking online for driver updaters and all of them require a purchase to download the updated drivers. I need the driver for my Matishta DVD-RAM UJ-822S, because even widows updater will not find the drive to update the drivers!!! Please help.

Drivers for optical drives are contained within the operating system itself, and are not available for download separately. If you have a restore point made prior to you using revo uninstaller, try going back to it.

Or you might try a Repair Installation of the operating system. It is always prudent to back up your files prior to doing this.

And you can try the Microsoft Fix-it tool for optical drives, though I generally find it to be a waste of time. http://support.microsoft.com/mats/cd_dvd_drive_problems/en-us

Unfortunately the restore point created by revo didn’t work, none of them did. I also don’t have the original restore/installation cd as this laptop is quite old, though I do have the original registration key. I’ll have to try the fix it tool you mentioned. Hmm I also just noticed AVG has adriver updater tool. If it works that’ll be awesome.

The Microsoft fix it tool was completely useless as remarked. AVG didn’t work because it requires an upgrade to the full paid version of AVG of which I cannot afford. If that was the case then I would have purchased a driver updater program. I did download the free driver download program but it didn’t detect half the drivers I needed the paid ones do. Is there any easier way to solve my problem and use this laptop at its fullest?