Desktop won't boot with two sticks of 2 GB RAM installed

I am a disabled retired mechanic. I work on computers to have something to do with my time.

My problem is that the desktop I am now working on won’t boot when two sticks of 2 GB ram is installed. It will boot with two GB in DIMM 1 or DIMM 2 but not when both DIMM’s are populated.

The desktop is a Dell Optiplex 520 that I was given and wouldn’t boot. I found the one stick of ram bad. The desktop came with XP but I installed W7 Pro x64 to see if the motherboard would run W7. It had 2 GB bad ram and I replaced the ram with a 2 GB stick. But I wanted 4 GB ram and I installed another stick and the problem started. The desktop boots past BIOS and when the Windows icon assenbles as a whole the computer stops booting and will do nothing. I have to use the power button to turn off the desktop.

Run 2 GB, well I would but I have a processor ordered and when I get the processor installed I am planning on installing W10 Pro v. 1909 and want 4 GB"s of ram. Also, manual says that the board will handle max 4 GB RAM

Anyone have any idea why the desktop won’t boot with 4 GB’s RAM. Thanks.

Are the two 2GB DIMMs identical? If they are different it could be that the timings are not suitable for one of them, especially if the CPU or chipset switches to dual channel mode anyway. E.g. if one is DDR266 CL2 and the other is DDR400 CL3 and the board switches to DDR400 CL3 the DDR266 DIMM will be running out of its specification (with 200 MHz instead of the required 133 MHz).
Check if there’s an option called “Memory hole remapping” or similar, enable it if possible.
Other possible causes are PSU, BIOS issues (ensure newest is installed).

1 Like

Thanks Oinker for the reply. Yes they are identiacl .