Dell Inspiron 2200 - CD Read problem

Hi guys (nice forum). I have a problem with reading disks on a laptop (see title); the strange thing is it reads DVD okay but not CDs. And I’m concerned for when Windows XP needs reinstalling as I can’t get the XP CD boot disk recognised (I burned a DVD with it on but that’s no good either).

TSST TS-L462C 24x slim combo is the optical drive description - I have tried flashing the bios (system and drive) but still it fails to read any kind of CD (programs etc).

I’m thinking the drive is obviously faulty but thought I’d check first before possibly ordering/picking up a SONY DW Q520A, which my local PC World store has in stock. Of course, as a novice, I have questions about this too:

1. Does anyone know if it is compatible with the Dell or is even the best drive to go for (just want a nice simple fix really)

2. Is it easy to install? I’m thinking it’ll just be a question of removing retaining screws and sliding the old drive out.

3. Do I need to set any jumpers or fiddle elsewhere in order to get the drive to work?

4. Is it advisable to flash the bios of the Sony drive when installing it? I think it’ll have the latest firmware but see that people modify bios’ and use utilities to change master/slave settings and things (hence the reason I ask not because I want to do it for fun but because it may be necessary).

5. Oh, and lastly but importantly – the old TS-L462C 24x slim combo (DVDRom/CDRW) drive, I’m hoping it’s dead because the laser pick up thing is duff and not because of any other reason - eg, the interface to motherboard/ribbon cable or whatever optical drives use. Is there any way other than trying a new drive to test there is no other cause for this drive’s failuer? The drivers are loaded fine and as I said, it reads DVDs perfectly well - it’s just I can’t use my XP CD to reload the OS from boot up.

Thanks for reading - hope you can help.

Hi and welcome @CDF!