Defective SOHD-16P9S?

Hello there, this is my first time post though i have been reading these forums like a knowledge vampire for the past year or so. I never really had any major problems that I couldn’t figure out until now. Mostly I am just concerned that i have a defective drive, but i figured that i would see if others have had this same problem with their own DVD-ROM. First here is my computer specs that matter for the situation. and some that really dont =P

3.2ghz P4 Northwood
1gig PC3200 Corsair in dual channel mode
865PERL Intel board bleh
2 SATA WD Raptor 36gig
Plextor 716a as burner set as Primary Master
Lite On SOHD-16P9S set as Secondary Master FS09 Firmware and i tried the hacked firmware to fix this problem as well setting the speeds lower to no avail

The problem that I am having happenned all of the sudden after 2 successful backups with DVD Shrink 3.2. All of the sudden all discs that I try analyzing with any software will go to the end of the disc and then I will recieve read errors on no matter what the disc. These discs worked just fine in analyzation on my Plextor. I bought the lite on to cut down the amount of stress and so i can just allow my computer to back up a disc and shut down the computer when done while im away. The drive worked just perfectly and quiet the first two times and i was very pleased with the read speed in comparison to my Plextor. I thought maybe it was Plextools getting in the way or something but i disabled that and still encountered the same errors. I am going to try and get a hold of Lite-On… and i would just return the drive but i had bought it at a place 4 hours away… i really should have just ordered it online. Thanks in advance of any replies. I will try and get the exact error in various programs as soon as i return.