Defective drive?

vbimport

Hi. I’m new here. I’ve been using a cd-rw drive for many years and I thought it was about time for me to upgrade to a dvdrw drive. So I bought a Nec ND-3500A from newegg. I am experiencing extreme slow speeds with the drive. Burning at 8x it takes 21 minutes! That cannot be correct because I am told that it is supposed to take about 8 minutes. What is wrong? I even upgraded my firmware to the latest 2.18 and this problem still persists. I am using Maxell 8x DVD+R discs. I am also burning data files. Please help! If I cannot fix this problem, maybe a format and reinstall of my OS would. or I will return this and buy something else.

look here:

thanks

This is usually a IDE driver issue or a non enabled UDMA 2… check if UDMA2 is enabled or try to roll back IDE drivers to MS IDE in device manager…

Hey thanks for the reply but I am a little bit confused on what you just said. how can i check for this? I think i’m already using microsoft’s drivers:

are those windows blinds from stardock? Take those off and try it, I had lots of troubles with those when I used them quite a while back, even with this stuff. It cloggs some stuff down sometimes.

Before you do anything I’ll write next tell me what mother board do you have…

You have to go into Control Panel/System/HardWare/Device Manager :wink:
Then find IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers… and go to properties on the channel you have your Nec on ( Primary, Secondary)… then find If you have your Nec in Ultra DMA 2 transfer mode. If it’s in Ultra DMA 2… then go out here… and in the IDE controllers hit properties on your controller… And in Driver tab hit roll back driver.

Hm… you have… what about your Controller drivers…

this is what i see:

My nec is the master drive.

That’s probably your harddisk.

My guess is that your NEC is master on secondary channel.

Here is another screenshot.

Have you enabled DMA for secondary channel in your bios. Check in your bios if it says Auto or PIO mode.