Decrypting a raw digital cable signal (UK)

vbimport

Hi all,

Does anyone know what video encryption method is used on the UK digital cable signal in the UK, specifically NTL. Is there a CAM and TV card combination that could use my viewing card so that I may view cable directly on the PC rather than through the STB? Iknow you can output the STB signal via RF to a TV card, but this is not what I want to do.

I’m a noob at this and if i can’t get the cable channels on the PC, I want to look towards a satelite system in the longer term and Freeview in the short Term.

What suggestion are there for decent DIgital Sat or Digital FTA cards are there that can be used as the hub of a media centre to be able to stream channels to other local PC’s? Ideally I would want twin tuners as well.

Many thanks.

Chris

PS I am also after cards that would be cabable of reciving and decoding HDTV infomation. I know we don’t have a lot of choice in th UK yet and even the Sky stuff next won’t be able to be decoded by a PC setup (at least I think) but you never know what the BBC will eventually offer.

They use the Nagra v1 encryption, which it’s main encryption is a 512 bit (64 byte) RSA public exponent key that is stored on the smart card. The digital video encoding transmission uses the DVB-C standard.

There is a card but without CAM support, so it’s only to receive freeview, such as BBC1, BBC2, ITV, CH4, CH5, which aren’t encrypted:
Hauppauge WinTV DVB-C.

Ah ha - now you’ve given me that little piece of info (DVB-C) I have managed to find a couple of other product that might to the job via the www.dvb.org website.

This (http://www.archimedis.tv/produkte.php -called the TV Station) is is German, so I not too sure if it will do the job but seems to support both DVB-S and DVB-C with a CI module upgrade (is this what the CAM plugs into or am I getting myself muddled?)