Deciding between ASUS DRW-1608P2S and LG GSA-4167B

Hey, looking for some advice since I can’t decide between these two drives to complement the drives in my sig…
Just like to hear some people’s thoughts. Im ordering one or the other tonight…

any opinions welcome… I have no experience with these drives…

or I could just get rid of the plex 740 and get a plex 716a but I think that may be a bad idea… :doh:

I have the ASUS drive, its a pioneer 110D. It can be crossflashed to support bitsetting and RAM. The LG drive does both of them out of the box. Its hard to say which one to get, I had the same exact decision to make (and I also have a benq 1640 :smiley: ) and I chose to get the ASUS drive (cheaper) and crossflash it to pioneer. I think I’m glad I went with the pioneer drive :slight_smile: . If you want to save a couple bucks, they both go on sale at the egg you just have to keep an eye out on the price (mine was $40 shipped).

I don’t believe thats the 110D as this one supports dvd-ram write at 5x
I think you have the asus 1608P2… this is the 1608P2-S which I think is the same hardware as the Pioneer-DVR-A10/110. easy to overlook…but I think I might end up getting that one for the fact that its more mod-able with FW

the LG is on sale for the weekend OEM for 38.99 and the asus/Pioneer A10/110 is 46.99 retail… quite odd that its 1$ cheaper then the DVD-ram read only model which is what i think you got…

The 1608P2 is a rebadged DVR-110 (with DVD-RAM write @5x).
However, even a 110D can be crossflashed to a 110 to enable DVD-RAM burning. :wink:

PS: LG and Asus/Pio - both are good burners!